St Fillans sits at the eastern end of Loch Earn and is a well established tourist centre providing accommodation, boating and food for those who visit. There is a Pictish fort at the hill of Dundurn nearby which dates as far back as the 7th Century. The village was originally called Port Lochearn but was renamed by the Drummond family, who owned the Drummond estate in 1817.
There is an interesting natural rock immediately to the east of the village known as "crocodile rock" which is painted bright colours and is worth a visit if you have young children.
The countryside around this village is more gentle than other places in the National Park but none the less it is stunning. Visitors to St Fillans can enjoy various activities as there are a huge number of tracks and paths for walkers and cyclists in the general area. Also there is a Golf Course and being on the shores of Loch Earn there are of course all the water borne activities one would expect such as, fishing (the loch is stocked regularly with brown and rainbow trout, permits can be bought locally) sailing, kayaking and more.
Another place of interest at St Fillans is an island in Loch Earn just beside the village which is in fact manmade (a crannog) There would appear to have been many occupants of this crannog dating back to Picktish times where it was a fort and before that it is thought that in pre-historic times there were clans of water born lake dwellers. It is also said that a branch of the McNeish clan lived on the island and made sure that only Mcneish boats were allowed on the Loch.